Office Troubles.

I don’t have a reason, but I just don’t like you.

Within every work environment I’ve taken part of, there always seems to be the one odd person whom I strongly dislike, as I’m sure many of you have all experienced. In this case, the feeling is clearly mutual, but at what point does it go from two positive magnetic fields to attempting to get the person fired. What can you do when the other party has worked there for years and the company still sees you as a rather “new” employee?

For the moment, we shall rename this person to be “Morgan”.

Although you may be liked by most, you wont necessarily be on everyone’s “Favorite” list. Despite this fact, especially in a work place, you must remain respectful, professional and calm-headed. Since the beginning, I have been nothing but a kiss ass with Morgan, attempting to make a good impression on my fellow employees and supervisor since they know we do not get along. Over the course of two years, Morgan and I have obviously hit some tough moments as I daydream of pushing him out the window (we’re on the 22nd floor), but have always ignored any inappropriate comments. Until recently, that is.

For the first time in my life, I decided to go on vacation for 2 weeks. During which time, Morgan decided to lie to my supervisor and spin situations in order to make it seem as though I cannot do my job properly. As most people, while I was away enjoying my time off, I did not think about work nor accessed any type of work-related e-mails, anything of the sort. And yet, Morgan attempted to blame me for things falling behind and not being processed saying I was not doing my job at all. Among many other empty complaints, when I returned, he waited 3 days until a new batch of lies began to surface. Except this time, he decided to announce it to the entire company. He proceeded to ruffle through files he does not have access to in order to gain any type of leverage so he may advise our Vice President that I am not correctly working and do not belong in this work place.

To my advantage, my supervisor saw through his schemes and even admitted, “I don’t know why, but he obviously has it out for you.” And protected my reputation. Unfortunately, that still did not stop him from continuing to whisper rude comments into the ears of our coworkers and plant negative seeds within their thoughts about me. Fortunately enough, I have been attempting to choose a career path in which I’d like to spend my time working towards. And here is certainly not the place I plan to be for the rest of my life.

Have you ever been in a similar position? What did you do, or would have done?

What are some of your office horror stories?

Leave a Reply

