Useless/Inconsiderate Texting.

If you DGAF, then STFU.

Perhaps this may be just a pet-peeve of mine, but I am curious to know why people ask personal questions when they truly don’t care.

For example:

“What did you do today?”

“Oh my God, you wont believe it! After work, we went to the mall and ended up bumping into my favorite celebrity!”

“Ok.”

I mean – REALLY?! No matter what is said, even if it was something as outrageous as I pet a tiger on the nose, it never fully mattered in the first place. Then why on earth would you ask to begin with? I realize some people may start such conversations simply because they’re bored and would like someone to talk to, but if that’s the case, then why send one word responses? How is this at all productive?

Two days ago, I got into an accident, and the exact conversation was as follows:

“Hey, how are you?”

“I’m okay… Got into a car accident, still have a major headache. You?”

“Bored, doing homework.

Can you tell me what just happened right there? Did I just tell you I was in a car accident and you honestly couldn’t even be bothered enough to ask if I was okay or what happened? Mind you, the accident wasn’t major, the car of the driver was completely wrecked and he ended up with minor injuries. But based off of what little information I gave, you aren’t even just a tad concerned for my well being? Especially since you gave me the title of being your “sister“! I myself, would have assumed that since the person responded to my message that everything is okay, but out of common courtesy would at least asked to confirm or asked what happened instead of just completely dismissing them.

Am I the only one who feels this way?

2 thoughts on “Useless/Inconsiderate Texting.

  1. Hi just started following your blog, and no you’re not alone, I too hate inconsiderate texting. It’s like having a conversation and then dropping in an important point and then it just being passed off as nothing. Just saying “okay”, as in the example you used is a finite way of ending a conversation, without having to continue many texts, which normally is fine, but in the case of a car accident you would expect a little more than that.

    • Good morning, Daniel,

      Thank you for following and for the kind reminder that I should continue to update this site, even if I don’t have many readers (hehe).

      You’re most absolutely right. To this day, I am still flabbergasted at how inconsiderate people are – they will text you at all hours of the day, craving attention or seeking unnecessary advice. Yet when you need someone, they could not be any less concern. It’s though they use you simply for their own benefit and do not wish to have any type of “friendship” or commitment to you unless you are serving them, hand and foot. And just to think, this is all over a darn text message, what has the world come to where people are so selfish that their actions are shown through technology! Sigh. At least there are still few who see through their deceiving ways and still have a heart!

Leave a Reply

