Jim Parsons Confirms Sexuality.

Jim Parsons, better known as Sheldon on the hit television show, The Big Bang Theory, recently sat down with the New York Times. The article, which is quite the good read and is highly recommended for all fans, goes into depth about Parsons’ childhood and adolescence, his past and present performances and the decisions that had such a grand impact on his life. Patrick Healy (the writer) goes forth with Broadway talk, exploring Parsons’ plans for his new character on “Harvey” – opening night is the 14th of June.

And in case you were wondering, yes, Jim Parsons will be returning to The Big Bang Theory in August, not to worry. Though ironically, Parsons admitted,

“If I ever wrote a script myself, it would be strongly emotional material. Every time I think about writing, comedy doesn’t interest me in the slightest. I can play comedy, but I don’t think in terms of comic dialogue.”

Although Parsons loves his character of Sheldon, he seems to hold a great passion for characters with profound and intense personalities, playing many roles of gay activities like Tommy Boatwright in “The Normal Heart”. This particular performance echoed his own life, as Mr. Parsons has been in a committed relationship for 10 years with his partner and admits to being gay.

Either way, the man is an acting genius and seems to be a lovely person, with his old-fashioned manners and obsessive need to ensure his audience is completely satisfied.

“One of my very early teachers said over and over again: ‘What are you bringing to the party?’ That expression never left me.”

“Well, what about it? What am I bringing to this party?”

“If I’m not making a choice with each and every line,” he continued, “then why are you bothering watching me?”

 

Leave a comment